Musings on a Presidential Debate

· Uncategorized
Authors

Let’s just get this out of the way:

Donald Trump!

.

Next.

.

.

.

The moderators in that “happy hour” debate made me giggle, but I honestly wonder who was in charge of some of those questions; “I need a two word answers: Describe Hillary Clinton.” The best part of this question was NOT A SINGLE CANDIDATE used just two words!

.

.

Really though I think the most efficient and effective way to break this down will be to just have a small quip about each candidate, a pro and a con.

.

.

.

Lindsay Graham- I was touched by how passionate Lindsay Graham was about many of the wrong things. He got very emotional with his upbringing, and I appreciated what appeared to be an honest appeal for a neo-conservative agenda. I think a Graham foreign policy would be very intrusive. Safety from foreign entities cannot be the weight of justification for restructuring the domestic policies of the United States to look like Soviet Russia.

Carly Fiorina- Shut down the government over planned parenthood?! That is ignorant at best, but I will admit she stood out, she was a strong contrarian voice and stands from a different vantage point, not only as a woman, but as a business person. I think she will be a great news pundit when this is all over, but I will place money on it, that she is not making it out of Ames.

Bobby Jindal- This guy is a soundbite. He hit on all of the major conservative talk show discussions without really giving much substance. I will say his record sounds promising, but I’ll have to look more into that. Also, did you know that he is an investigator as well? Yeah me either…

George Pataki- This guy was not afraid to look different, or to sound different. He laid out how someone can be both pro-choice in the political realm and have religious views that are not the same. He made some good points, and, like Gilmore, it would be worth looking into his record; also like Gilmore he is not going to be well heard.

Rick Santorum- Nothing new here. If you want rick’s views, just check out his 2012 debates. A little older, a little less wise to be running for president (sorry can’t say much nice about him, he didn’t wear a sweater, so that was nice).

Rick Perry- I gotta love this guys smile, and overall attitude. This is the guy that couldn’t even remember his own three point plan in 2012! He has a very down-to-earth vibe, but very little substance. Like walker, I would seriously be afraid of his foreign policy. Absolutely no diplomacy.

Jim Gilmore- I will admit, I was impressed with the Governors in the happy ‘hour debate,’ but I haven’t fact checked any of what they said. If it’s true that he did what he said in the state of Virginia then he is a great leader. He is a straight shooter, and unfortunately he is a soft-spoken mild-mannered guy in a large pool of candidates, which never bodes well.

.

.

.

WOW! Let me just start off by saying that the Prime time debate opened very fast and not a single candidate stuttered, they all brought it (with the exception of maybe Huckabee). I thought the best debater was that host, he really gave it to Trump.

.

.

.

Rand Paul- It was great to see Paul and Christie duke it out on foreign intelligence, because they stand at starkly different positions. Paul came off a bit scrappy this debate, he fought way too much with battles that could have better been left to die. When it came to discussion on foreign aide Paul stood in contrast and hit the nail on the head, he is the only candidate that is sounding diplomatic.

Screenshot_2015-08-06-23-28-33(Rand Paul rolling his eyes at Christie’s ridiculous appeal to emotion)

.

Marco Rubio- I think Rubio is one hell of a speaker, he pointed towards the future, and kept his own words focused on ideas, rather than other candidates which was a nice change. He had a lot of good ideas, but the substance was clearly missing. Education, Tax reform, Repeal! Okay, how? *Crikets…

Ted Cruz- I just don’t have a lot to say, but he sure does love Reagan. I think it is great that he is willing to attack the RINOs in the party, but it’s hard to say what HE thinks. I don’t know, perhaps we will just have to look at his voting record….

Ben Carson- I think Carson had a very interesting stage persona, it was a bit lackadaisical and continually appealed to using critical thinking. That is a very welcoming difference, and I think Carson is sharp. I think he appeals a bit too much to the conservative christian crowd, but it wasn’t overpowering like it was from Kasich or Huckabee.

Mike Huckabee- Fighting for the Proletariat! He came out attacking the wall street revolving door and it was awesome! Overall, didn’t hear much from him, and he came off as a Nixon-looking shell. I thought he was rather weak on this stage, really sounding like a candidate from another era. His closing statement was great, and it made me laugh out loud!

Chris Christie- I don’t like Christie, I think he is a pompous asshole who is full of himself and carries himself like a bully. That said, he is right that we have to have a legitimate plan for social security, and I can appreciate how he cuts through the rhetoric and calls people out on the nonsense political speak. I would be curious if anything he said can be fact checked.

John Kasich- He had the home field advantage, but it was hard to find a clear idea in any of his responses. He was just a good ole christian that wants everything to be okay. I think he made a good response to the gay marriage question, because it was just a ridiculous question. I think he is someone that will slip away after the first few debates and will likely drop out after the straw polls.

Scott Walker- He and Jeb were the only candidate that seemed to be in a debate with Hillary Clinton, which worked in the last debate, because we KNEW Obama was the democratic nominee. I don’t think this is a good strategy. He had a hard time answering for the economic issues and his ideas about diplomacy are dangerous (Rip the deal up and add crippling sanctions), but what can I say, he is photogenic.

Jeb Bush- How similar to Mitt Romney can someone get? He spoke out of both sides of his mouth. He is another great speaker, and is touting a lot of his successes as governor (Anyone want to fact check this?), but I just didn’t see much of substance. I will say he is another very photogenic candidate, the glasses are killer, man.

Donald Trump- The one thing that can be said, is that The Donald is not afraid to take on political correctness. This is positive and we need more leaders that aren’t afraid to offend. If it has to do with defending his own success, he stood behind his “accomplishments.” Everything else was air; he is like a chocolate bunny, hollow on the inside. I think trump is the perfect example of why we don’t want a business man running the country, it’s not all business.

.

.

If you want to do your own further research I would suggest checking out

Votesmart.org

Ontheissues.org

Factcheck.org

Thanks for stopping by!

Any Thoughts?...

