Launching a Cyber-State: Can We Homestead Servers to Defeat Government Intervention on the Internet?

· Politics, Uncategorized
Authors

I haven’t blogged much in law school, seeing as I virtually have no time or energy after I do my work and spend quality time with the fam. However, one thing that intersects popular culture, my life in law school and my thoughts as a libertarian/philosophy enthusiasts has allowed me to write something new!

Today Wikileaks released Vault 7, detailing the extent of government spying. It is hardly shocking to those that have been even remotely paying attention. Wikileaks also advertises several tools that those who wish to go to great lengths to protect their privacy online (ironically including the TOR network, which is a CIA invention). One such tool, known as Tails, allows for someone to launch a private OS through a flash drive, which I think is a great tool.
But this got me thinking about just how great of lengths the government goes to destroy privacy and how the really only true way a company might protect its Servers/ISP is by launching its own, and giving access to everyone.
In my Law and Technology class we discussed how the biggest problem with starting a new ISP (internet service provider) is the cost to barrier to entry. Basically you could have private servers (clinton bathroom style), private networks and browsers (TOR), and still be out of luck if Comcast or ATT decide they don’t like you (or more importantly, if the government tells Comcast or ATT to not like you). Really, the only way to be able to offer a truly free and private system is to create a service provider that is free from government intrusion.

But how would this be done?

Essentially, there needs to be an Internet nation state. One that can send signals out that anyone can attach to, that doesn’t discriminate against its sources, and allows everyone attached to access and store to these private servers, and allows for private access to said information/servers. The other glaring is the US government could simply shoot it out of existence (if it knows where the network is), but what if it isn’t any one place? Might an elaborate network of satellites the entry, armed locations (the nation state), and global individual users (the source of privacy) be able to make it impossible for the government to find a source? I am not really sure, and I wish to learn more about this. But I believe there are cyber pirates who are much smarter than me (not implying that I, myself am a cyber pirate), that have already answered these problems, and I predict the future of the internet is something of a decentralized state that protects anyone who wishes to be private and barrier free in sharing their data.

Any Thoughts?...

